Revamping I-League

AIFF president Praful Patel and other executives have decided that the I-League 2014 – 15 would kick start in the first week of December this year. The committee has also stated that Jammu and Kashmir would host the Federation Cup in 2015.
The committee have made a compulsion for all the Coaches/Technical Directors to hold AFC A-License degree if they are in a club playing I-League. They also stated that if any clubs appoint coaches without A-License then that coach cannot train the players before or after match, they would have to keep away from dugouts,they cannot enter the dressing and other restrictions.

Kolkata giants¬† Mohun Bagan are in deep trouble having recruited India’s one of the most successful coach Subhash Bhowmick just a few weeks back.

Furthermore, AIFF has made it mandatory for the I-League clubs to recruit one marquee player, if one fails to do so they would not be able to field any foreign players. Definition of marquee player will be intimated to the clubs as early as possible. The committee has also informed about the ongoing bidding process to get new teams for the next edition of I-League. AIFF has scheduled a meeting on Club Licensing on 21st May on club licensing.

AIFF congratulated the recipient of I-League awards who were voted by all the coaches and captains of the I-League clubs.

I-League Awards were given to:

Best Player of I-League: Sunil Chhetri (Bengaluru FC)
Best Goalkeeper of I-League: Karanjit Singh (Salgaocar SC)
Best Defender of I-League: John Johnson (Bengaluru FC)
Best Midfielder of I-League: Douhou Pierre (Pune FC)
Best Forward of I-League: Sunil Chhetri (Bengaluru FC)
Best Referee of I-League: Pratap Singh (from Uttarakhand)
Best Assistant Referee of I-League: Sapan Kennedy (from Manipur)