Football contingents for Incheon

The final list of Players who would represent the country in the Incheon Asian Games have been named by both Men’s and Women’s coaches Wim Koevermans and Tarun Roy respectively.

Dempo’s Alwyn George, Pune FC duo Salam Ranjan Singh and Dhanpal Ganesh; and Sporting Clube De Goa’s Rowlin Borges failed to make the cut for the Asian Games for the U-23 India Men’s side.

On the other hand, Supriya Routray, Indumathi, Jyoti Ann Burrett and Rinaroy Devi also won’t be travelling to Incheon along with the Indian Women’s squad.

Clubbed with Group A alongside hosts South Korea, Maldives and Thailand, the Indian Women play their first Group League match against Maldives on September 14. The other matches are against South Korea on September 17 and Thailand on September 19.

The U-23 Men on the other hand have take on the might of last Games’ silver medalists United Arab Emirates in their first Group League match on September 15 while their last match in the Group is against Jordan on September 22.

The 20-member squad Men’s National Team Squad:

GOALKEEPERS: Amrinder Singh, Ravi Kumar, Kamaljit Singh.

DEFENDERS: Pritam Kotal, Keenan Almeida, Joyner Lourenco, Shankar Sampingiraj, Sandesh Jhingan, Narayan Das.

MIDFIELDERS: Pronoy Halder, Clifton Dias, Siam Hangal, Lalrindika Ralte, Milan Singh.

FORWARDS: Francis Fernandes (Senior Player), Seiminlen Doungel, Sunil Chhetri (Senior Player), Robin Singh (Senior Player), Haokip Thongkoshim, Mandar Rao Desai.

The 18-member Women’s National Team Squad:

GOALKEEPERS: Okram Roshni Devi, Aditi Chauhan, Pushpa Tirkey

DEFENDERS: Ashem Romi Devi, Ashalata Devi, Tuli Goon, Radharani Devi, Suprava Samal, Upamati Devi

MIDFIELDERS: Premi Devi, Amoolya Kamal, Mandakini Devi, Oinam Bembem Devi, Kamala Devi.

FORWARDS: Sasmita Malik, Prameshwori Devi, Dangmei Grace, Bala Devi

– An AIFF Report