AIFF has been awarded the best National Sports Federation (NSF) by FICCI at India sports award night in New Delhi. AIFF was nominated along with National Rifle Association of India (NRAI), Federation of Motor Sports Club of India and the Billiards and Snooker Federation of India.
AIFF was bestowed with the honour due to their involvement in grass-root programs and setting up regional academies of world class infrastructure. Presently AIFF runs grass-root development program in six different states.

AIFF was nominated in 2013 for the AFC Grass-root MA of the year Award and came second after Japan. click on the link to read more:

The jury was Chaired by Justice Mukul Mudgal (Retd), Chief Justice, Punjab and Haryana High Court and Head of Supreme Court Panel on Indian Premier League (IPL) Match-fixing scandal. He was joined by Dr. Jiji Thomson, Director General, Sports Authority of India; Prof. Rajesh Tripathi, Chairperson, All India Council of Physical education and Principal, VNS College of Physical Education and Management Studies; Mr. Nitin Kukreja, President, Star Sports India; Ms. Karnam Malleswari, Former Olympic Medalist; Ms. Indu Puri, Former National Champion, Table Tennis and Mr. Abhijit Sarkar, Head Corporate Communication, Sahara India Pariwar.

This category of award was started in 2009 and National Rifle Association of India (NRAI) and Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) had been the winners in earlier occasions.