Awards Shared Amongst Various Players of Different Countries

After 52 matches, the FIFA U-17 World Cup India 2017 came to an end on 28 October. The competition culminated in a thrilling contest between two European heavyweights, with England eventually prevailing 5-2 against Spain to become world champions in this age group for the first time.

Football may be a team sport, but a few select players delivered such outstanding individual performances over the course of the 22 days as to merit and receive special recognition. Philip Foden was honoured with the adidas Golden Ball as the tournament’s best player, emulating the likes of Cesc Fabregas and Toni Kroos before him. His England teammate Rhian Brewster ended India 2017 as top goalscorer, while the Brazil goalkeeper Gabriel Brazao and the collective fair play of Brazil also made it onto a list of award winners compiled by FIFA’s Technical Study Group (TSG).

The other award winners were as follows:-

Adidas Silver Ball: Sergio Gomez (Spain)

Adidas Bronze Ball: Rhian Brewster (England) – 

Adidas Silver Boot: Lassana N’Diaye (Mali)

Adidas Bronze Boot: Abel Ruiz (Spain)