France Crowned World Champions Over A Six Goal Thriller Against Croatia

The most awaited day of World Cup 2018 saw France lock horms against the most unexpected finalists, Croatia, at the Luzhniki Stadium. After a lot of shockers and icons of world football such as Brazil, Argentina, Germany and England bowing out in the knockouts, this final demanded something special and got one at the end of the day. The game started off with a Mario Mandzukic own goal (18′). The Croatian Forward headed the ball into his own net from an Antoine Griezmann free-kick. Within 10 minutes, Ivan Perisic scored a magnificent goal from the edge of the penalty box to make it 1-1. In the 38′ of the game, France were awarded a penalty due to Ivan Perisic’s debatable handball, after VAR verification and Antoine Griezmann made no mistake in scoring from the spot to give his country the lead before the end of first half.

In the second half of the game, the Croatians pushed more men up the field to equalize and instead conceded two more goals in a span of 6 minutes. Paul Pogba (59′) and Kylian Mbappe (65′) made it 4-1 for France. Although Mario Mandzukic got one back in the 69′, it was too late and the dream kept distancing itself from Croatia’s grasp. The match ended 4-2 and Didier Deschamps joined the elite club of being crowned champions both as a player (in 1998) and this time as the Head Coach of his country.

Like Lionel Messi in the last world cup, Croatia’s LM 10 Luka Modric received the Golden Ball for the best player of the tournament, with absolutely no expression of joy.

Listed below are the other awardees of this year’s World Cup –

Silver Ball: Eden Hazard (Belgium)

Bronze Ball: Antoine Griezmann (France)


Golden Boot: Harry Kane (England), six goals

Silver Boot: Antoine Griezmann (France), four goals

Bronze Boot: Romelu Lukaku (Belgium), four goals
Griezmann takes silver boot on number of assists


Golden Glove: Thibaut Courtois (Belgium)


FIFA Young Player: Kylian Mbappe (France)



Antoine Griezmann (France)