I-League Matchday 21

Real Kashmir vs East Bengal

Real Kashmir succumbed to a 1-2 defeat against East Bengal, in a match that was played at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium. Kashmir were down to 10-men at the half-hour mark when Abednego Tetteh  was given the marching orders. Two goals from E. Esqueda (20′) and Jaime Santos (43′) saw Bengal end the first-half with a 2-0 lead. Aaron Katebe (67 [P]) got one back for Kashmir in the second-half.

Gokulam FC vs Aizawl FC

A sensational second-half display helped Aizawl beat Gokulam Kerala 3-1 on at the EMS Stadium in Calicut. With this win, Aizawl move to eigth on the I-League table. Paul Ramfangzauva (83′),  Lalkhawpuimawia (88′) and Ansumana Kromah (90+7′) scored in the second-half to produce a fantastic turnaround late in the game, owing to Marcus Joseph’s (9′) early goal for Gokulam.

Mohun Bagan vs Indian Arrows

Mohun Bagan’s final home game of this season’s campaign ended with a 1-3 defeat to Indian Arrows at the Yuba Bharati Krirangan in Kolkata. Azharuddin Mallick (17′) scored the opener but goals from Abhijit Sarkar (29′), Rahul KP (74′) and Rohit Danu (90+5′) completed the come-from-behind triumph for the away side who ended their season with 21 points from 20 games.

Churchill Brothers vs Chennai City

Churchill Brothers defeated Chennai City FC 3-2 on Friday at the Tilak Maidan, Goa to keep this season’s title race alive. Willis Plaza scored a brace (38′, 70′) and Christ Remi (48′) was on target for the hosts. Sandor Rodriguez (29′) and Pedro Manzi (69′) were the goalscorers for Chennai.

Minerva Punjab vs East Bengal

East Bengal earned a hard fought 1-0 win over Minerva Punjab at the Tau Devi Lal Stadium in Panchkula. After a goalless first half, it was Enrique Esqueda (75′) who pierced the net to hand Bengal the much needed three points in the context of the title race.

Gokulam FC vs NEROCA FC

Daniel Addo (46′) and Marcus Joseph (82′) were on the scoresheet as Gokulam edged past NEROCA with a 2-1 victory and avoided relegation for this season. Felix Chidi (23′) scored the only goal for NEROCA.

Aizawl FC vs Shillong Lajong

Shillong Lajong are set to be placed last in the table as they lost 4-1 to Aizawl FC at the Rajiv Gandhi Stadium. Ansumana Kromah (40′, 83′) scored a brace, Lalkhawpuimawia (81′) and Isak Vanlalruatfela (89′) were also on the goalscoring chart for Aizawl. The consolation goal for Lajong came in the dying minutes of the match through substitute Donboklang Lyngdoh (90+3′).