India Crowned Champions of Tri-Nation Series

A 1-1 draw against St. Kitts & Nevis at the Mumbai Football Arena was enough for India to be crowned Champions of  the Hero Tri-Nation Football Series 2017 with 1 win and one draw while St. Kitts & Nevis finished 2nd with two consecutive draws.

Stephen Constantine’s boys got the breakthrough in the 38th minute when Jackichand Singh headed a long ball from Rowlin Borges home to send the crowd into a moment of exuberant madness.

Indian midfielders were dictating the game all throughout the game and the St. Kitts & Nevis players were completely dominated by their Indian counterparts.

Meanwhile, it was Jackichand’s second International goal and incidentally, both goals have been scored at this particular venue, the maiden one coming against Puerto Rico.

The Blue Tigers went into the break with a one-goal lead.

Robin Singh was introduced after the break and Balwant Singh who saw a first-half goal ruled offside in the 26th minute, was withdrawn.9 minutes after the hour-mark, Bertie Carlos came very close to find the equaliser but Subrata Paul poked it away to give away with a corner to the visitors.On the 3rd consecutive corner, the Carribean side scored the equaliser from a looping header by Amory Gvaune in the 71st minute.

With a huge morale booster of becoming Champions in this tournament,India are scheduled to play against Macau in the AFC Asian Cup UAE 2019 Qualifiers on September 5, 2017.